Sew Liberated

1 Jun

(Warning, I’m typing with a sleeping/ nursing baby in my lap so forgive me my typos)

I’ve been eyeing a particular book for awhile and stalking the blog, Sew Liberated for some time now.  I just love it, her philosophy, her blog, her patterns… Just wonderful and what should arrive in the mail today but my very own copy of “Growing Up Sew Liberated” ! I justified the book purchase with hubby because the boys need new clothes, well, MORE clothes (man do these twins grow FAST) and we have had discussions about clothes that we like and dislike- we tend to dislike what is available and need bigger butt pants. Well, this book has the most adorable bubble butt pants that I can’t wait to try so there you have it. Oh, did I mention it comes with full size patterns and wonderfully photographed instructions? oh I can’t wait. I’ll write a review once I’ve done some actual sewing and not just drooling on the pages…

I haven’t had a chance to sew anything from it yet as it JUST arrived and well, this boy has been sleeping and eating for some time now, but I can’t wait to dive in. I’m starting with the bubble butt pants and hopefully busting out some envelope t’s in short order. Gosh are they cute!

Meanwhile, I HAVE been rocking out another one of her lovely patterns available for free on her website, the Snow Pixie hat is a personal favorite, though we tend to call the boys our little gnomes. 🙂 They each have two and I hope to make more. The pattern couldn’t be easier and I can make one of these in about 15 minutes if I have my hands free. I’m also interested in trying to outsmart the pilot cap pattern as well. For your viewing pleasure, here are some snap shots of the boys in their very cute little hats.

Cute, huh? Little gnome

Oh, and the second picture features the Charlie Tunic, from Made By Rae. I LOVE this pattern. Normally I do not spend that much on patterns but it was worth every penny. It includes sizes 12 months to 5t which means I will get a ton of use out of it, and I made the pattern small enough for the boys just by cutting on the seam allowance lines for the 12month size. I would guess it to be a 6month size or so? Anyway. The first ones I made from a super soft and light 3.5 oz/ yard bleached linen with a wooden button. I wanted to keep it simple so I put the facing on the inside for these but I’m excited to get some fun prints to play around with the facings. The pattern is well organized and the instructions are clear. Super happy I splurged on this one!

Little gnome is also sporting some mama made woolies. Just sayin’…

Leave a Reply

