Sunday Thanks and some ponderings too.

2 Sep

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever.
-Psalm 135:1

Every Sunday lets give a little extra thanks to God for our gifts.

(Forgive me for slacking on this and posting in general….)

I’m sitting on my sofa in my sweats. It’s 7:17am, and “we”(myself and blessings 1 and 2) since about 5am. They are down for their first nap of the day, albeit a bit early. I’m thankful for so many things, but as I sit here drinking my coffee and preparing myself for the day and what I want to accomplish (putting aside the fact that it’s the Sabbath- that’s a debate for another day…) I am thinking about my approach. Here is where I am thankful. Not to sound conceded, but God has given me so many talents and natural abilities, as well as the opportunity to use those gifts and improve upon them. Just a few examples include my creative outlets, sewing, knitting, cooking, baking, etc. Of course, these are also the SKILLS that I utilize in homemaking (and yes, I am also thankful for my grandmothers and other teachers who have helped me improve these skills!!) So I am very, very thankful for these gifts, but I wish I could focus on that thankfulness more. I find myself a little drowned in it and I wonder how my foremamas ever managed. There are too many project that I want to accomplish. Clothes for me and the boys, home projects (like quilts and stuff), cleaning, organizing, purging, plus I still have commissions on top of it all. I LOVE crafting and creating, but there is a lot of stress involved when it’s not just a hobby anymore, but also how you provide for your family- be it to clothe them, feed them or make a bit of extra cash. I wonder if our foremothers felt like this sometimes, or if because they didn’t have the luxury/option/availability to purchase items that we can that they just didn’t think about it. It’s hard to avoid the temptation sometimes to just throw in the towel and say, “whatever, I’m just going to go buy clothes/gifts whatever at TJ Maxx” Or buy canned goods/ convenience foods. Not to say that going out and buying is inherently “bad”- I’m a big supporter of capitalism and spending money to support our economy- but there is a lot I feel I SHOULD be doing for myself, not to mention the fact that with our budget just going out and buying isn’t always an option, and even when I can, I find that often I get a better quality product if I invest in good materials and make something myself.

Hm… things to ponder this (quiet!) Sunday morning.  I will pray on these thoughts, and perhaps the Lord will shed some light.

Leave a Reply

