Sunday Thanks, Elving and celebrating the solstice

9 Dec

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever.
-Psalm 135:1

Every Sunday lets give a little extra thanks to God for our gifts.

 

Back around to Sunday again!

I’m feeling so abundantly blessed this week! I’m so very thankful for my friends and family. This week we received a deer- my friend harvested it, and my mom paid for it to be processed so that we would have a stock of healthy, delicious meat in our freezer for the winter. I feel so taken care of. Today we are also having a “Thanksgiving” dinner with our very good friends and their families. We are deep frying a turkey! (I know, oh so very healthy, but I’ve never had it before) and to top it off, they are all so kind as to try and make gluten free goodies for this Celiac girl. How sweet and thoughtful is that?

 

This week…

Is going to be busy. We are in the last few weeks before Christmas and there is a great deal of elving to be done! It’s been a lovely blur of activities and hand-made goodness. I finished a few gifts, but I can’t tell you who they are for in case they happen to read my blog… 😉

We also need to figure out how we want to celebrate the solstice- the mark of winter, the longest night. Yes, we are a Christian family, but I believe the seasons are such an important thing to celebrate and children are so deeply tied to the rhythmic change of mother nature that I want to make the Solstice part of our holiday celebration. Any ideas would be welcome!

 

Well I hope everyone has a blessed Sunday and beautiful week!

 

Leave a Reply

