Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack… and now, dessert and a sensory experience

31 Jan

I love popcorn. Seriously. I love it. 2 years ago hubby bought me a 50 pound bag of popcorn kernels. We had been spending a silly amount of money of wasteful, microwave popcorn and had started buying bags of kernels from the supermarket and popping it on the stove. Then, one fateful day at Sam’s club, we saw it. It was something silly like $10 for the whole 50 pounds. That was it. I haven’t bought popcorn since. I eat popcorn at least a few times per week. Before I had to worry about also feeding my children, I would often eat it for dinner. Or breakfast, or lunch. Truth. I love it. I love topping it. My favorite seasoning is probably Rendezvous BBQ dry rub. Salt and pepper is definitely up there for simplicity, Taco is a go to for sure. Garlic parm? Oh yes. So you get the picture. For Christmas I made a concoction I found on Pinterest with white chocolate, M&Ms and  pretzels. OOOOOH heaven. Delish!

And now… I try my very own caramel corn. Why I haven’t done this before I do not know. Maybe because popcorn has always been more of a meal than dessert, but inspired by the success of the salty sweet Christmas treat, I venture here. I love caramel, I love popcorn, it’s only right I should love caramel corn, but I’ve never really loved the store bought kind and for whatever reason always thought it was a culinary venture beyond me. Anyway. Here it goes. I used this recipe from Homestead Roots as it did not use corn syrup which I just didn’t have. I sprinkled a little extra salt over the whole thing and popped it in the oven… well, I am not a patient person and decided it was so yummy I could eat it with a spoon, so I did that too. 🙂

It was good. Image

Sadly, my popcorn is going stale. I have it in mason jars, but 2 years is a long time. So… I’m putting the rest to good use since I won’t be able to consume it ALL before it’s totally stale and un-poppable.

Image

My boys just love it. The texture is so fun and keeps them busy for awhile. It makes fun sounds when thrown from the box too, apparently. Oh well. Fun is fun… and when they are old enough, I’m sure they will enjoy eating the popped kernels as much as the un-popped! 😉

 

PS. I blame my lovely friend Heidi for my major popcorn love. I don’t recall how it all happened, but she first introduced me to popping on the stove and it’s been crazy ever since!

Leave a Reply

