SouleMama and inspiration

31 May

Late last night, while a certain little boy would not go easily to sleep and instead wanted to dose and nurse in momma’s arms… This momma was browsing the internet for inspiration. I went to my usual blogs and exhausted facebook. It’s no secret I have a domestic squish on Amanda Blake Soule of Soulemama.com. I do, I have a total squish. I love the blog, I think her and her family are just lovely, I love the values, the ideas and just the beauty that she shares (and the popcorn… nom.) Anyway. I thought to myself, “hey self, why don’t you google ‘blogs like SouleMama” and see if any lists pop up” Good idea, self! Or not. I was shocked and appalled at the negativity. The first page of search results were essentially bashing my squish. Some where veiled in “oh, I’m just jealous I can never be so perfect” and then go on to bashing. Some were outright “I hate her,” Some called her a liar for showing off the “perfection” and on and on and on. It was really depressing. 

First. I don’t know the Soule Mama personally. I’ve only been stalking her blog (for about 3 years now) I’ve never met her or even spoken directly to her, BUT just about every day I’m inspired by her. I discovered her and her family after picking up “Handmade Home” at home depot the first week we moved into our house. I was hooked. I actually read that book cover to cover and have done many of the projects. 

When I need some inspiration, I go to her blog and look through the archives. There is always a project or something pretty that gives me motivation to bust out the knitting needles or the fabric stash. 

When I want something “new” I look at her beautiful home full of well loved and worn things and do a little mending and rearranging of the things I have. 

It’s not a place where I go and think, “oh she’s so perfect, why can’t I be like that?” It’s a place I go and think, “they have made this work, so can I.” 

So I was a little sickened at the pettiness I saw. The “oh I did all that before it was coo” or “I had to sacrifice to have that” BS that I saw on blogs that I clicked on hoping to find inspiration. Amanda says right on the blog that it’s only a snap shot, that she’s sharing the beauty and I love her for that. There is enough negativity, don’t you think? There are plenty of other venues for that “solidarity” in the toddler tantrum too, why should she fall in line with that? I like that her blog is a little piece of serenity, a mostly positive place. Why is that so hard for people to swallow? 

 

So there. I really didn’t need to write a whole post about this… but I was hurt. I don’t know if the Soule Mama knows or cares about those other posts, but I did. It’s probably silly, but it is what it is and now I’m done with it. I just thought I should put it out there that I love her blog and love following her family’s adventures and appreciate the time and energy she puts into everything she does and shares. It can’t be easy. So, even with all the negativity, I hope this shows that there are plenty of people who love and appreciate SouleMama.com. 

Thanks for reading! 🙂 

2 Responses to “SouleMama and inspiration”

  1. Marie March 25, 2014 at 4:49 am #

    I did the exact same thing recently (googled ‘blogs like soulemama’) and I was also shocked at the amount of hate thrown her way. I don’t get it at all. The only thing that makes sense is that she threatens people who have inferiority complexes. When I visit her blog I don’t compare my life to hers, what’s the point in that? My life is very different (no kids, city living) but I share some values with her and I appreciate that she writes about family in the way she does. I have zero interest in hearing about the struggles of baby tantrums or poopy diapers (can you imagine the noise that 5 kids could make? ugh!) Once in a while I want to live vicariously through her blog. I want the highlight reel and that’s what she gives us, and she does it beautifully too! Thank you for writing this, I was beginning to think the internet was filled with haters. 🙂

    • goodwifegoodmama March 25, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

      Thanks for the comment! I really appreciate your thoughts on this. Really… 5 kids. Amazing. I have my two and oh are they loud now that they’ve grown a bit! 😉

Leave a Reply

